Be Selfish 1 Hour A Day

Life is busy.  We spend our days occupied in tasks. Whether for work, school, or stay at home chores; we can’t seem to find enough hours to focus on ourselves. I know that sounds selfish but it’s good to be selfish for at least 1 hour a day. Daily fitness is one of the hardest things for everyone to fit into their schedules. On average a great workout should be more than 30mins, striving for at least 1 hour a day is best for keeping the mind and body in balanced health.

I’m a full-time college student with a part time job and workout six days a week. I was worried about waking up to catch an early morning train for the city and trying to fit in a workout before breakfast. I decided to be creative and find ways to spread out my hour workout through my day. In the morning at 5am I workout for 30mins then when I get home I work out for about 30 mins before dinner. Now I’m worn out by the time I get home in the evening so I decided to making my morning workouts more cardio and strength based, while my evening workout consists of yoga or simple mat work.

It’s easy to find great fitness videos on YouTube, I follow Tone It Up, Tracy Anderson, Bad Yogi, and Doyouyoga. I also enjoy my fitness dvds which have 20 to 30 min workouts that I can pop in the dvd player the night before and have it ready for the morning.

Being selfish for the body is what keeps us sane. Even when you’re extremely exhausted from your long day and don’t want to workout, if you give yourself 10 mins to do some stretches you will feel your body get energized and then you will be motivated to finish your workout. Treat your fitness routine as a ritual, giving thanks to your body for working so hard for you. Working out is a great way to get blood flow to the brain to help with retaining information and keeping the mind creative. Fitness boosts the immune system and serotonin levels, sustaining a fitness routine with inspire you to make healthier choices throughout your day.

IMG_20150827_182658 Loving you is the best selfish thing you can do.

Leave a Reply

