Learning To Balance

We all put a lot of pressure on ourselves, we have high expectations for our work. We tend to feel like there isn’t enough hours in the day to get it all done. We may plan to get things done but most of the time we never finish the list of goals, we create a personal system of failure. When we demand so much from ourselves we tend to fall short, soon after we spiral down the hill of emotional suffocation. I’m not saying it’s bad to push yourself and to have confidence of getting things done, but you need to have a realistic perception.

Let’s just say I had a meltdown this week, and yes I do know that it’s only Tuesday; That goes to show how stressed I was. I just felt this morning that I wasn’t doing the things that I needed to do. I had plans each day to: write a blog post for both EcoFitYogi & Crystal Herbalism to read, watch tv, spend time with family, workout, cook dinner, and visit with my boyfriend. On top of having all these goals for my day, I have my internship all day and commute a total of 2.5 hours. I was setting myself up for failure, I felt like I was letting myself down; that I wasn’t listening to my own advice to honor the moment. My wise boyfriend told me, “Be proud of yourself, write down small goals that you know you want to do and make time for it. Remember your only human.”

I took his advice and decided that on this marvelous Tuesday that I was going to change how I planned out my day. I got a free app on Google Play called Planner Plus, it allows me to enter in my tasks for the day and set a time to start working on them. The app reminds me of the tasks I have and also allows me to check them off as I get them done; and we all enjoy the feeling of pride when we finish a task!

I just want you to know that it’s ok to break down, to have moments of frustration. When you experience an emotion I want you to really truly feel it, it allows you to understands its presence and learn from it.

Take the time each day to focus on what you can realistically get done, but also make time for your “Selfish Hour”; You can break up your personal time. For example, I’m writing on the train ride to the city and reading on the ride home. I’m going to do yoga when I get home, then spend the evening with the family, and read before bed. Think of it as a collection of moments that form the Selfish Hour. When you take the time each day to plan out the tasks you want to accomplish and create time for yourself, then you are balanced, humanly balanced.

cropped-img_20151021_171607.jpg

Leave a Reply

