Creating an Alter Ego

An alter ego is also known as a “second self” that is distant from”true personality,” some even consider it a double life within. I know… it sounds very Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde-ish, but when I bring up the idea of creating an alter ego I mean embodying a positive shadow of ourselves. We find inspiration in everything, we create meaning and value within those inspirations. We may find a connection with a character from a film, tv show, book (etc.). When we establish that relationship with someone, whether fictional or not, we are able to reflect ourselves from them. The idea that we seek a sense of something we lack in those who inspire us. Now, by lacking something I don’t mean that we don’t have it, we just don’t use it to our full potential. Such as courage or speaking up, we have the ability within we just don’t know who to facilitate it.

When it comes to creating an alter ego we are finding a character or person that we see ourselves in, at least the shadow of our personality. I found my alter ego in my favorite YA book series Throne of Glass, Aelin (in the beginning series known as Celaena) became the women I wanted embody more of. She is courageous, intense, strong, determined, kick-ass, and expressive. Aelin was a stronger version of myself, I was already vocal and focused but I didn’t utilize my ability to express myself without fear. I made Aelin my alter ego and she still is. I give her credit for giving me the courage to become a strong feminist, I thank her for giving me the power to not be fearful and to take control of my choices. It’s almost like having an invisible friend, an inner voice that gives you advice or that extra push when you need it. There is this concrete relationship established that allows you to almost have this alter ego be your shield when you need it but also be your support when you face challenges head on.

Aelin Fireheart
Aelin Fireheart

When creating an alter ego you must choose a character that brings your positive attributes to the surface. Your alter ego can be a character that’s an elder or a child, it can be a magical creature from a film or book. It’s all about imagination and finding security in having a “spirit self.” You may feel this is silly, but in reality you have had many egos over your life time from the books you’ve read as a child to the films you’ve watched growing up.

We have all found a person or fictional character that we connected with, that reflection constructed our personality. We are the creation of the imprints we have formed with objects and people, our consciousness is a canvas of the watercolors of personalities we have evolved from.

When developing an alter ego it’s all about looking deep within and connecting with that inner voice and creating a persona for it.

“She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”
― Sarah J. Maas, Queen of Shadows

One Comment Add yours

  1. Marta Frant says:

    Now I wonder who my alter ego is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

