EcoFitYogi- An Interview with Marissa

Today I feature an interview with my best friend Marissa. She is a strong woman with a caring heart. Marissa is my nature & crystal buddy! She is my co-worker at Crystal Life and also the creator of Honey Lune Hivery. She has being dreams and wants to make a difference in the world. Her smile is contagious and her ability to see the best in everyone admirable.

  • What is your personal mantra?

“Onora te albina, onora te luna”. It means, honor the bee, honor the moon in Romanian. The bee found me back in college when I was struggling with an eating disorder. I didn’t think I had the power to beat this disease. My mom was a huge support at this time. I remember her telling me the story about the bumblebee. According to the laws of aerodynamics, a bumblebee isn’t supposed to fly. Its body is too big in proportion to its wings. But a bumblebee doesn’t know anything about the laws of aerodynamics, so it just goes about flying. It showed me that I can do anything I put my mind to. The bee stuck with me after that. It also represents rebirth and hard work. It a12032069_10205864395144045_1461995313160284348_nlso symbolizes productivity, joy, creativity, and community. These meanings have resonated with me, and I connect the bee with my Solar Plexus Chakra. The moon on the other hand, has always fascinated me, and all its mystery. It symbolizes the inner workings of the self, and connects to our emotions and intuitions. Being empathic and not realizing it for a long time, I was labeled as sensitive and “over emotional”. This had a negative connotation with it, and for a while, I avoided showing my emotions on fear of being judged or labeled. I now know that my sensitivity is a gift, and I honor it my being in tune with my emotions and intuition.

  • How did you become interested in spirituality: crystals, nature, meditation?

My family was big into the outdoors when I was growing up. Every summer we would go camping, biking, and road tripping to new places. I would spend my time playing outdoors, climbing trees, catching frogs, and exploring the woods. My parents are also environmentally conscious. We compost, grow our own vegetables in the summer, and use natural remedies. I reconnected to these beliefs when I was recovering. Nature was actually something that helped me heal my mind. Being out in the woods, my stress and anxiety disappeared and I was left in return with a deep sense of awe, seeing the connections of Mother Earth and realizing that I am a part of something much greater than myself. My interests in the metaphysics/occult also stemmed from my childhood. I had a very active imagination and would pretend I was a swamp witch, woodland nymph, mermaid, and all other sorts of mythical beings. My engagement to this world was only skin deep. This was because I was afraid. Afraid of a world filled with demons, spirits and the supernatural. Afraid of what others would think of me. Afraid to be different. So I kept my interests of his other world tucked away. It wasn’t until I started to rediscover myself that these interests reemerged. This time however, I was ready to dive deeper into these fascinations. I took up yoga, tarot and astrology. I spend countless hours at the library researching these topics. I got my job at Crystal Life Technology, and started to learn about the world of energy. I found I had a knack for crystal grid making, and recently I have taken up Feng Shui. My once small interest in the metaphysics has exploded and found its way into my whole life. I joke that I have so many passions due to my Mars being in Gemini, but I believe it is also because I love seeing the connections of all these different aspects. I love the feeling the metaphysics and spirituality gives me. It has helped in my healing, and to have a better understanding of life.

Honey Lune Hivery merges my passions of the environment and spirituality. On my blog, Honey Lune Hivery, I advocate this lifestyle I dubbed, “EcoSpiritual” which blends both awareness for Mother Nature through a plant-based lif12189590_1650831168531963_5567814755450104351_nestyle, and an awareness of energy, through crystals, astrology, and other energy work. I have also taken this EcoSpiritual concept to start up my own business, which focuses on Interior Design and Energy work. I always knew I wanted to get into design. I love the creative process and the feelings I get from it. So I went to school and got my degree in it. Not soon after, I discovered spirituality and energy work, and realized I wanted to have a career that focused on both of my passions. I found out it is my soul’s path to help people find peace and harmony through their environments; hence Honey Lune Hivery was created. I focus on Sustainable design, as I am an eco-activist, and also mindful designs, working with western Feng Shui and other forms of energy. With my business, I also sell my artwork. Every piece has a meaning behind it, combining nature and energy, and it is another way to advocate EcoSpirituality. Most of my work is watercolor and photography. Honey Lune Hivery encompasses so many of my passions and interests, though somehow, they all blend together.  Right now, it is a start-up business, but I would love to make this my full-time career!

  • As a college graduate establishing a career, if you could go back in time, what advice would you give your college senior self?

Nothing. There are a million things I could probably tell myself regarding my career path, but it wouldn’t have done any good. I learn through my experiences, and each step along my journey has been important. Through multiple internships, and different jobs, I realize what works and doesn’t work for me. I always wanted to be an Interior Designer. At first, I wanted to get a prestigious job at a big firm in the city. I thought that this type of success would fulfill me. After becoming spiritually awakened however, I realized there is more to my career that just this physical value of money and fame. I wanted to help people. I didn’t want to be at a job that limited me in my capabilities of doing this. That is why I am becoming knowledgeable in Feng Shui, so that I can own my own business that focuses on helping people through energy and design. I wouldn’t have realized this though if I hadn’t gone through those experiences that made me realize that I wanted something more out of my career.

  • As someone who has struggled with an eating disorder, how did that experience shape your life?

My eating disorder was the best and worst event of my life. As a teenager, I dealt with body image issues, anxiety, depression, and low self-esteem. I kept these issues bottled inside me, which slowly ate away my confidence and happiness. These issues grew until they manifested into an eating disorder when I went away to college. At this time of my life, I felt completely powerless. Every day I had to battle this inner voice telling me I was worthless and unloved. I became so empty inside. I was this shell of a former person, and all that was left were feelings of self-hate and apathy. These two years were the worst of my life, but I am extremely grateful for them. When I hit rock bottom, there was nowhere else to go but up. Eventually, I could no longer take the pain and unhappiness of living life this way, and even though I had thoughts of suicide, I knew I wasn’t meant to die, not yet. Through recovery, I learned cognitive behavioral therapy, which helped rewire my thoughts, feelings, and behaviors. I began to honor and love myself, for my strengths and my weaknesses. It was a time of rediscovery. Who was I? I had broken myself down so much, that I had this opportunity to build myself and my life into how I wanted it. It was a tough battle, getting to where I am today. Overcoming my eating disorder showed me that I am capable of anything I put my mind to. It showed me how strong I actually am. Full of self-love and confidence, I am the happiest I’ve ever been. After living in my own personal Hell, I know that I am never going to let myself go back there. I create my own happiness, and my own destiny. Through my eating disorder, I can look at other events in my life with appreciation, knowing that they are life lessons that shape me into a stronger person.12400961_1673171769631236_1758676227487546678_n

  • How do you personally deal with emotional imbalances?

A lot of my emotional imbalances came from my thoughts. Thoughts influence feelings. When I first started rewiring my brain to think more positive, journaling was a major tool I used. Putting my thoughts on paper allowed me to release these negative feelings instead of bottling them up. It gave me the chance to slow down my racing mind, allowing me to see the absurdity of some of my fears. I also used journaling to make daily lists. As a Virgo, I am all about lists! Each morning, I would write down a certain number of things I was grateful for, and each night, I would reflect on my day, making a list of all the good things that happened. It didn’t have to be a huge event. It could be something as small as a sunny day. The point was to focus on the positives. I’d use to make lists of everything I loved about myself. It was a challenge at first to find three things I liked about myself. But slowly, the list grew over time. I would write down anything and everything I could think of that make me a beautiful person, inside and out. That I have long lashes, to talking in different accents. This way, whenever I was feeling crappy about myself, I would turn to my long list of things that I loved about myself. I even made lists of things I loved to do, so what when I was feeling negative and needed to distract my mind, I could turn to this list of things to do. Some of these activities included yoga, art, and being out in nature. I’ve evolved enough to not need a physical list to help me in times of unbalance, but I instead keep these lists mentally filed so I can utilize them whenever.

  • What effect has veganism had on your lifestyle? (Positive/Negative)

Making the switch to veganism has been such a positive experience in my life. Dealing with an eating disorder, there was such a love/hate relationship I had with what I ate. Becoming a plant-based vegan, I’ve developed this strong connection to my food. There is that saying, “your body is a temple”. With being vegan, I honor my temple by offering it healthy, clean food. In return, it honors me. I have an abundance of energy, I rarely get sick, and my overall physical appearance has drastically improved.img_7048

Being vegan also plays a huge role in my lifestyle of EcoSpirituality. Animal agriculture is the number one cause of environmental issues such as deforestation, overexploitation, water waste, and greenhouse gases. The production of one hamburger patty wastes 2,500 gallons of water, and every second, 1-2 acres are being destroyed in the Amazon for cattle grazing. Being such an environmentalist, it makes so much sense to adopt a vegan lifestyle. There is also the spiritual side of veganism. I live a life of compassion and love, towards all living beings. Becoming spiritually enlightened, I no longer see animals as packaged meat. I realize that they have energy and souls like us and it is ignorant to think that just because we as humans have higher intellectual capabilities, that it justifies our superiority over other species. Through this all, veganism was this overall awakening and awareness for me.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dawn says:

    I particularly loved Marissa’s interview. What an inspiring and special young lady. I enjoyed her honesty, thoughtfulness and the way she connected with herself given her experiences thus far in her life. I look forward to meeting her one day and as well as seeing where her life journey will take her.

    Like

    1. EcoFitYogi says:

      I’m glad to hear Dawn! She is one of my best friends. We have been through similar challenges and have grown stronger from them! She is a wonderful & pure spirit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

