An Interview with Omega

I chose to interview a dear friend of mine, Omega. She is sassy, confident, and beautiful. Her laugh and smile are contagious. I’m inspired by her work ethic and positive mind. Omega is a leader, a women who’s inspired to do good, and an old soul. In the same style that she talks- short, honest, and kind, this interview allows you to understand the importance of speaking your mind and embracing confidence.

Do you have a personal mantra?

Oh Sarah, I have several! However, my favorite on to keep me going is “knowledge is dangerous.” This is my favorite because I love learning, but sometimes I want to give in because I am so busy with work and school. When I feel like giving in, I always say my personal mantra because as long as I know I’ll have the ammo I need in life, I’ll be dangerous. In short, to be knowledgeable is to be dangerous.

As a student with internships, work, and school, how do you keep yourself balanced and healthy (mentally & physically)?

12745656_1259970964030373_8444042128174330453_nI ask myself this everyday… I listen to my music on my way to work and school. It has gotten to the point when I forget my headphones and have to listen to the real world, it sounds so strange. I’m not kidding. I also draw to keep my sanity, I draw based on what I feel but I look at my feeling through other people’s perspectives. Check it out at omegadyson.wix.com/omegadyson.

Have you ever struggled with body image issues? How have you healed?

All the time. People look down on plus sized women, sometimes other women of the same factor do as well. People give plus size beauty this label of being “thick without stretch marks, rolls, thin waist (even though she’s plus size), and no discoloration.” Social media has made it worse. I’ve healed because I am not concerned about how people look at me anymore. Sorry not sorry to tell people, all people aren’t Photoshop. I’ve healed because at the end of the day I have to love myself. Another personal mantra for this issue of mine is RuPaul saying “if you can’t love yourself, how in the hell are you going to love someone else.”

As a victim to bullying in the past, how has it impacted your life?

It impacted me so much. It showed me how cruel people could be in this world, and that we live in a world where people talk more than they listen. I don’t judge people. People look at my sideways when I say that but it’s true. I look past what you wear and have, but all of that could be gone in a second. I love people’s auras and personality. If they are straightforward and fun it’s a plus.11259907_1093442977349840_2898140992098662046_n

When you are having an off day, how do you make yourself feel better?

Music, and surrounding/talking to friends like Sarah. When I’m with the friends who lift me up and who I aspire to be. It makes me so happy that I have an outlet to vent too.

As a confident woman, have you noticed that people treat you different when you speak your mind?

EVERYDAY! They love it! I mean you have some people who mistake confident for cocky or rude, but hey that’s their business. People love it when I speak my mind because as I said knowledge is dangerous; so I never speak my mind without #facts. That’s what makes confident women so dangerous.

 What advice do you have for college students who are struggling with balancing all their priorities?

Breathe in, breathe out, and let go. When you understand that you can’t control everything, change is going to happen, and life happen also you will feel so much better about what you do. Try to achieve personal happiness whatever that may be, never bend for anyone.

Leave a Reply

