EcoFitYogi- Earthy Eats

Being vegan has allowed me to establish a balanced relationship with my food, I respect where my food comes from, I’m more conscious on what I feed myself, and I honor the moment when I’m creating my meals. Veganism allows me to have more energy, heighten my selectivity to my bodies feelings, and strengthen my awareness of when I need to eat. When I cook I focus on choosing food that fuel my body, I don’t concentrate on calories, only ingredients.

It’s important to take your focus to what is in your food, to make sure you understand what you are putting in your body. For example, besides avoiding non-vegan ingredients I also refuse to eat foods with corn syrup, artificial flavors/dyes/preservatives, and foods with too many ingredients. There is this rule I live by: if the food label for a product looks like a science experiment, don’t eat it. Choose foods that are whole grains, non-gmo, organic, local, sustainably grown.

Since the new year I have been working on creating new meals, I have been following food blogs like Oh She Glows, OneGreenPlanet, & The Minimalist Baker. I recently created two new meals that I found Via Buzzfeed & Pinterest, I of course added my own spin on the recipes.

**Please note that I’m horrible at following recipes so I usually never use measuring cups, I’m a fan of rustic cooking.

Squash Pasta Bowl

  • 1 Spaghetti Squash (precook in 400 degrees 30min)
  • Bella Mushrooms
  • About 1/3 cup Northern beans
  • 1 bag of organic frozen broccoli
  • ½ cup of Organic frozen spinach
  • ½ cup of Organic frozen kale
  • Garlic, Green onions, red pepper flakes, salt, extra virgin olive oil, ginger powder.

12705490_966521753440941_1108046856432517965_n

Green Sandwich ( Vegan Tuna Sandwich)

12705621_970955162997600_3491282586735451133_n

  • +1/2 large avacado or 1 small avacado (mash it down)
  • 1/4 cup lentils (You can use chickpeas instead of lentils.)
  • Organic celery
  • Mustard, Ginger, Salt, Smoked Paprika, Garlic, Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Whole Wheat Bread
  • Spinach Leaves

 

Leave a Reply

