Healthy Working Woman

This week I started my first ‘out of college’ job as a marketing coordinator for a wellness company. It is a new mental and physical transition for me. I find myself in a corporate setting where I sit at a desk, spend a majority of my day commuting, and take on a larger work load.

When it comes to working in an office setting we find it difficult to implement healthy habits. Our mind is focused on work and we forget about putting the body first, as in body, I mean physical and mental.

We are in a balancing act. Many women are working mothers, spouses, students, and commuters (etc). We find ourselves not only having to hone in our energies for work but multiple other roles. The one thing we tend to not put on the priority to-do list is ourselves.

Below are some tips (in no particular order) that you can use during your work day and commute. These tips will allow you to cultivate healthier choices and manifest mindfulness. When we are healthy within, we are able to share that organic energy with others and craft it into our work.

A Healthy Working Women:

  • Pack a healthy lunch – the secret is preparing it all the night before. Using leftovers is a great way to craft lunches when on a budget. Focus on packing a protein, veggie, whole grain, and fruit.
    • My go-to lunch is whole wheat pita bread, hummus, an avacado, and an orange.
  • Hydrate – when you drink water throughout the day you keep your energy levels up and stimulate awareness.
    • Tea is also great to drink. I suggest green tea & jasmine in the morning to mid afternoon and black tea in the late afternoon to early evening.
      • Make sure with each cup of tea you drink a glass of water.
  • Get up an walk – aim to get up and walk around the office every hour. It keeps the blood flowing and the mind active. It also gives you the chance converse with other employees.
  • Pack sneakers – this is key to keeping your feet healthy and protecting them from soreness. It also makes commuting easier, especially if you use the train. 
  • Stand – when on the train or even at your desk find time to stand. I sit at my desk but I make sure to stand on the train during my morning and evening commute.
  • Take the stairs – this is one of my favorites! I love taking the stairs. It keeps you active throughout the day by burning calories and keeping the body alert. Taking the stairs also helps keep the booty lifted and legs strong.
  • Write it all down – collecting your tasks for the day and organizing them into a to-do list will help you prioritize tasks and put your day into perspective.
  • 10-20 min Workouts – find time in the morning or evening to get your workout in. My advice is to do 20 mins in the morning and 10 to 20 mins in the evening during the weekdays.
    • This allows you to space out your fitness routine and find time to strengthen the mind and body connection.
    • Working out before work also helps with keeping you confident and energized. Boosting your serotonin levels in the morning will keep you happy throughout the day.
  • Meditate – ease the mind in the morning and evening for 5 mins to center your focus and draw your attention inward. Imagine your safe place throughout the day to keep you balanced.
    • Breathing when stressed or overwhelmed is very important. Just take a moment to step back and collect your thoughts and respond to your emotions.
  • Decorate with purpose – place images and objects on your desk that brings you peace, inspiration, and happiness.
  • Mantra – create a daily mantra that allows you to remind you of your strength, beauty, and gratitude. Ex) I Am Love.

IMG_20160613_084243.jpg

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. emondrag says:

    Hi lovely! First off congratulations!! Thank you so much for this post! It is true that is hard to keep your balance when in an office, academic, industrial job, etc. Thank you for the Priority to do list! 😉 Sending you much love!

    Like

    1. EcoFitYogi says:

      Thank You Stefie!!

      It has been a crazy few weeks. I am moving into my first apartment with brandon in July and then I have my new job! I hope you are doing well. I love all your instagram pics. I’m excited for you & your baby. I’m sending you love & peace.

      Like

Leave a Reply

