The Time Barrier

In a day you sleep 8 hours, work 8 hours, leaving 8 hours (480 mins) for you.

Time is one of our biggest barriers when it comes to taking time for ourselves, we claim “there aren’t enough hours in the day!” But what would happen if we changed our mindset to viewing time as a budget, something we could manage in order to benefit ourselves.

I recently just moved into my first apartment with my boyfriend (high school sweetheart), we have found our 1 bedroom home in the beautiful Gold Coast of Chicago. It’s my first time living with someone and everyone cautioned me that it would be a huge adjustment, but so far we have enjoyed the transition. We have mange to create alone time where he lays on the couch to play his video games and I lounge on the couch in the bedroom reading my books or meditating. I even have the gym in the basement of the complex where I get detox my body and mind, oh how I love my “selfish hour.”

In the mornings I choose to wake up at 5:30am to loosen my body up with yoga and then break up my cardio & resistance training through the day as my muscles warm up.  Because I know when I get home from work in the evening, I am utterly exhausted. It means to be my mind is worn out and shuts down, causing my body to follow suit. I get home feeling pressured to choose between making dinner and working out. I know that if I eat dinner before I work out I will just end up taking a shower and putting pjs on and I know that if I work out before I eat, I will be cranky and feel rushed because I don’t want to eat dinner at 7pm.

Everyone is different and each body adjusts to time in a unique way, but when it comes to the evening I am checked out and ready to binge watch Outlander. I know that it’s not time that’s a barrier but my perspective causing me to feel constrained.  I think that we tend to blame something we feel we have no control over, so time makes the perfect victim in our blaming game.

Tips on Managing Time:

–          Create a To-Do list. Prioritize what needs to be done so you don’t feel overwhelmed with thoughts. You are also able to visualize see what is “digestible” for your day, it will help make your daily goals more realistic.

–          Put your “selfish hour/s” into your schedule. It’s as if you are creating a contract with yourself, you need to honor the terms and condition and put yourself first.

–          Create a time budget. This will allow you to break up your goals into increments. For example, I love to workout, it’s one of the ways I spend my “selfish hour”. When I sleep in I will take 10 minutes to do a small stretching session and then when I get home from work I take 20 minutes to do resistance and cardio.

Tips on Changing Perspective:

–          Create a daily mantra. This will set the tone for the day, it will be an anchor for you during times of overload.

–          Breathe. Taking a deep breath is a perfect way to center and find a sense of control within the moment. It allows you to take a step back and be more mindful on how you react to situations.

–          Morning Journal. I posted a video on @ecofityogiInstagram where I explain this. But overall, it’s a time in the morning where you sit down and write out all your thoughts. It’s a mental detox before you begin your day.

–          Talk about it. When you are feeling off balance or unsure how to manage your time, confide with someone you trust. When you express your emotions you will be able to find a solution when you have more clarity on what really is the issue.

Leave a Reply

