Self-Care Is Priority

When it comes to taking care of yourself you tend to find it as a “will get to” kind of task. I have started to experience that feeling of wanting to be in a million of places at once. Since I’ve moved to the city and started my career I have noticed that I tend to spend more time…

  • Making sure my projects are done
  • My boyfriend eats a healthy dinner
  • The fridge is stocked
  • The apartment is clean

I begin to leave my self-care on the sidelines. It’s not that I do it on purpose, it’s that I find myself feeling worn out and having no energy to give back to myself. For instance, yesterday I stayed late at work and I had busy commute home, only to find the gym in the apartment being occupied and my boyfriend waiting for dinner. I decided to take a rest day and go upstairs to cook a healthy meal for us and to just relax. I felt guilty from it, I felt like I was not putting myself first. So this morning, I woke up at 5 and went down to the gym and treated myself to a 50min yoga flow and a small meditation. My body and mind felt listened to, I felt like I was balanced and in that moment I was truly at peace. I have vowed to myself that I will take time each morning to give back to myself.  I have choose to “live with love.” I am enhancing my perceptive and making sure I see, speak, and feel love every single day.

I know our days are busy and we find ourselves pulled in multiple directions, but promise yourself, create an internal contract- that you will take care of yourself. Because in order to manifest goodness and take care of those around you, YOU, yourself must be healthy, aware, and in true balance. By true balance I don’t mean to strive for perfection but to strive for what leaves you feeling whole. I want you to feel empowered, I want you to see your strength as a tool to love your body and mind. In a world of constant movement, you need to make it a priority to find self-love in the chaos.

Leave a Reply

