The 2016 Election

This morning I woke up to find out that the country I live in elected a horrible man into office. I cried this morning because I felt like my country let me down. I casted my vote earlier the day before, I left the polls feeling energized. Little did I know, hours later into the night my country decided its fate.

I’m heartbroken to know that people chose to support a man who has made racist, sexist, and violent comments throughout his life. A man who as acted upon urges without women’s consent. As a woman, I am ashamed to live in a country who votes a man into office who thinks less of me.

I still feel in shock that it happened. I was is excited to be a part of history and have a woman in office but now I’m left with a man who wants to make “America Great” through hate.

I’m not being over emotional or over dramatic. When we elect a man like this into office we are telling boys and girls, men and women, that it is OK to treat each other with disrespect. For example here is what Trump said in private: “You know I’m automatically attracted to beautiful — I just start kissing them. It’s like a magnet. Just kiss. I don’t even wait.” “And when you’re a star, they let you do it,” Trump says. “You can do anything.” “Grab them by the p—y,” Trump says. “You can do anything.”

As a country we must reflect before we take action, if we didn’t, it would be like going into battle without a strategy. There is a lot of pain right now in America because we are trying to find balance between in sadness and anger. It’s natural for us to tap into the energy of hate, it’s an instinct that clicks on when we feel threatened or abused.

We must have sympathy for those who voted for him, for they truly don’t see their own ignorance. By electing a man into office that has said such terrible things just because he is a “business man,” tells history and younger generation that hate wins.

We must stand together and not let Trump have power in office, its important that we voice our concerns for safety and mistreatment. Coming together as a community is key to standing up to the hate that he is trying to bring into reign.

I don’t have the answers on what we should do, but I know that colliding our voices with the world will make the Government listen.

Our votes effect everyone, our choices are like ripples in a pond, and someday the waves will catch up with you.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful post Sarah. I feel the same way. I feel the energy of the Earth, and she is crying. 😥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. EcoFitYogi says:

      I agree. I feel an intense feminine energy starting to seep in, trying to comfort us during this time of change.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

