An Interview with Alyssa

Whether you are looking to gain a better understanding on essential oils or want to be inspired to do what you love, this interview will help. I’m thankful that Alyssa took the time to give tips on oils and showing us how to give back to ourselves this holiday season. Follow Alyssa on Instagram @bewelloils & her DoTerra site

What is your personal mantra?

I actively share my gifts to better my life and the lives of others.

How did you become interested in essential oils?

I was first introduced to essential oils through a neighbor of my parents. She is one of the founding wellness advocates for doTERRA in the U.S. She shared first the business opportunity that doTERRA is (which piqued my interest), then shared the story of how she found essential oils. She had a powerful experience with her young niece who was ill and her tiny 14719839_1796405147274273_4639167083203002368_nbody couldn’t handle the treatments the hospitals were using to try and help her. Someone suggested using an essential oil, which they were all very skeptical about, and couldn’t believe the results they saw. After I heard that story I knew I needed to try them and see for myself, so I signed up and just started using them. I had no clue what I was doing at first, but the more I used them in every different aspect of my life, the more I fell in love with them. I was initially using oils to support my digestive system and immune system and when those worked I knew I was hooked.

Where do you find inspiration for new blends?

The nice thing about doTERRA is that they already have a ton of blends that are available to make things easier for us. A lot of the time there is already something for what I need. When there isn’t, I turn to my oil reference books to see which oils are best suited for what I’m trying to accomplish and then mix them up!

One of the other fun ways to do this (especially for emotional needs), is to take the caps off of different oils and smell them. Generally one or more oils aromas will trigger something in me that lets me know my body needs me to use that oil that day. For this situation, I’ll just mix them by putting one or two drops of each directly on my wrist or behind my ears. This way I get the blend of oils I need that day, and the next day I can adjust to what I need then.

What are your daily rituals?

Morning:

Almost all of my morning products are infused with essential oils! They have uplifting aromas and are natural, so it’s the perfect start to my day. I alternate between homemade shampoo with essential oils in it and doTERRA’s shampoo and conditioner, I use the doTERRA essential oil infused hair serum in my hair, I use essential oil infused body scrub and lotion, and I have added a drop of lavender oil to my mascara. I take a DigestZen capsule (digestive system supporting oils), and I look through my emotional support oils 14369192_1097139427047883_8897271787297964032_n.jpgand choose a new one each morning that will support my goals for that day. The most common ones I use are Balance, Motivate, and Passion. If it’s a stressful day I will often use Serenity or vetiver. I always carry DigestZen, OnGuard, and some emotional oils with me in my purse so I’m ready for anything I encounter during the day!

Night:

I finish my day with two drops of lemon on my tongue followed by a glass of water. I then take two Serenity softgels, brush my teeth with OnGuard toothpaste, and rub a drop of Balance and a drop of Serenity on the bottom of each foot. My husband and I also sleep with our diffuser on that has peppermint, eucalyptus, lemon, OnGuard, and Serenity in it. Sweet dreams and wake up feeling great! Depending on the day I may add in other things (such as when I do yoga or meditate, but I’ll cover that on question 7) that I find I need, but on a regular basis, this is what I do!

What advice do you have for someone who wants to start using essential oils?

Just do it! Really, it’s that easy. If you’re wondering about them, the best way to gain knowledge about them and figure out what works for you is simply to start using them. Outside of that, figure out one or two things you would like to use essential oils for and research and/or talk to someone familiar with essential oils to figure out which oils you should try for that and start there. There is no shame in dipping your toes before jumping in completely.14677295_771460989670900_4468254430231265280_n

For health benefits, what oils do you recommend for the winter season?

I’ve mentioned OnGuard a few times and it’s the #1 thing I would recommend! It’s an already done blend from doTERRA that combines wild orange, clove, cinnamon, eucalyptus, and rosemary essential oils, which are all known to be immune boosters. Melaleuca (tea tree) and frankincense are also amazing for immune boosting. Eucalyptus, peppermint, and Breathe are all great to help airways feel clear (which is why we diffuse them at night) since that seems to be a predominant issue during the winter.

What are some good oils to use in a yoga and meditation practice?

I recently added my favorite oils to a graphic (below) that shows which oils I like to use when
meditating or doing yoga and I’m focusing on particular Chakras. There are many more you could use, but these are a great place to start.ch

Many people struggle with stress and depression. What oils ease those emotions?

Emotions are such crazy part of our lives, so I’m super glad I can address this! Dr. Hill said “What you feel emotionally becomes how you feel physically”. Winter is especially hard because we become less active and see less sunlight, so it’s important to find ways to combat that and essential oils are an amazing way!

We have pathways in our brains that are wired because of certain experiences and it programs us to react a certain way to things without consciously thinking about it. It’s hard to rewire those pathways, BUT essential oils can make it significantly easier. That means they help in the moment AND over time. Aroma is a powerful way to do this (think: smelling something that takes you back to a memory from your childhood), so the Emotional Aromatherapy oils from doTERRA are a powerful, already blended, way to help: Cheer, Motivate, Passion, Forgive, Console, and Peace. You can tell from the names what they make you feel and how it can help with those negative emotions. Balance, Serenity, and Elevation are also blends that are particularly good for this. If you don’t have those on hand, citrus oils! They are both calming and energizing.

If you could create an oil blend that symbolizes Goddess energy, what oils would you make?

I think the perfect combination would be frankincense, ylang ylang, lavender, and rose.

 

Leave a Reply

