An Interview with Hannah – Malabella Jewels

Hannah is the creator of Malabella Jewels, a small business dedicated to crafting crystal malas, bracelets, and cleansing kits, with values grounded in self-love and self-care. Malabella Jewels blossomed from a burning desire to create, spread love, and chase dreams.  Hannah is an inspirational woman who is artfully giving comfort and hope to those who seek it.

You can find Malabella Jewels on: Website, Instagram, Etsy, Facebook, & Twitter.

What is your personal mantra?

I’ve found that my mantra’s change and evolve as I grow and change. Right now my mantra’s are “I am Open” and “I manifest”. For me 2017 is all about opening up, being vulnerable, and experiencing new opportunities to grow personally and in my business.

How did you get started in crafting malas? hannahworking

It all started with my yoga practice. I came to yoga from a place of healing. I was looking for something to help heal my anxiety and depression without medicine. For me, yoga felt like the perfect place to start. During my yoga journey I came upon these magical string of beads
and I fell in love but I wanted my Mala to be of gemstones instead of the traditional rudraksha and wooden beads. I went out and bought some beads and thread and taught myself how to make Malas.

What are some way you cultivate creativity and inspiration? 

I go to nature. For me, nature is such a beautiful place of inspiration, creativity and growth. When I’m looking for inspiration I spend time in nature, hiking, camping, and journaling. Traveling is also a huge inspiration. I love finding color combinations in the most non-traditional locations and translating them into gorgeous Malas with intention.

smallbusinesssaturdayWhat advice do you have for women who want to start a business? 

Go for it and start NOW. I think a lot of people get stuck in the beginning phases of starting a business, perfecting every little bit before they go public with their businesses. Know that you will always be growing and evolving your business so just start, work hard, be persistent and love your customers!

Many people fear leaping into the passions as a business, how did you find the courage to follow your passion? 

I truly never expected Malabella to become what she is today so I just went for it. I started with 7 Malas on Etsy to test the waters and didn’t attach to the results. If they sold I’d create more and create a brand. If not then I’d create them for fun and move on. I really didn’t allow myself to sit, think, and analyze what was happening.

What goddess do you connect with?

Last June my boyfriend and I went to Wanderlust and did a Goddess Flow. The teacher talked about Indian goddesses, what they represent and how they play a role in our lives. I remember so clearly when she spoke of Kali, the strong goddess of death of the ego. She destroys so that we may recreate. She creates challenges, obstacles, and loss in our lives so that we may grow, evolve, and become our truest self. I just remember breaking down into tears when I heard of her. The last 4 years of my life have been a huge time of loss and love and because of the dark times I am who I am now. Malabella Jewels wouldn’t be here without the trials I faced and for that I am forever grateful.  hannahvending

What are some of your daily rituals? 

I LOVE my morning routine. I wake up and try to avoid my phone (try is the key word, haha), brew some coffee, drink a large cup of water then I read for 15 minutes, flow to some free style yoga for 15 minutes, whatever my body Is craving and then meditate with my Mala beads. If I don’t do my morning routine I feel rushed and a little off balance.

How do crystals and yoga play a role in your life? 

Crystals and yoga play a huge role in my life right now. I’m so grateful to be living this dream and to be able to play with crystals all day. Personally, I love placing crystals around my house where I need them most.

I have Celestite for communication by my computer on my desk along with Apatite for manifestation, and Selenite for a connection to the moon and for protection. My studio is also filled with Rose Quartz, Green Fluorite, Clear Quartz, Amethyst. I could go on and on. I also LOVE to bathe and shower with my crystals, especially Aquamarine for it’s sweet connection to the sea and it’s ability to soothe and relax.

mlmlYoga is huge in my life. Yoga heals me, relaxes me, and places my mind in this magical place of inspiration. Mala designs often come to me when I practice yoga and I instantly jot them down in my journal before they leave me. Last year I injured my back during a mud run and my yoga has been a lasting place of peace and has taught me so much.

mala.JPGWhat was the best advice you were ever given?

Some of the best advice I’ve been given was from my mother. She always used to say, “If there’s a will, there’s a way.” I freaking LOVE that. There is always a way, you just have to be creative, passionate, and hard working. You can make your dreams come true.

One Comment Add yours

  1. So so so much love! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

